confused...

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

confused...

Postby lilman » Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:23 pm

I have been studying Tai Chi Chuan and Qigong by myself for about 4 years learning from books (mostly Dr. Yang's) and about 4 months with a teacher, and am no where near my current potential with chi development. Mostly because of my confusion with how to do some of the qigong. The questions I have relate to wuchi and chi in general. Hopefully someone can help me out cuz my teacher will not answer these questions for me.

1. When practicing wuchi, Dr. Yangs books ussually suggest using either Daoist or Buddhist breathing techniques with coordination from the hui yin, I met a Daoist practitioner that told me when you practice wuchi you sit and do nothing, no breathing techniques, just breathe naturally. No coordination of your huiyin is necessary. Whats the correct method, if there is any?

2. And when practicing wuchi, if you feel rocking sensations from your dantian out to the rest of your body, and a slight warmth in your dantian, but not the boiling heat most books suggest, does that mean your close to the goal and almost ready for small circulation?

3. If your practice wuchi to build up chi, if you practice moving qigong or jin training before you have a full reserve and start circulating small circulation, are you waisting your time with wuchi? Can they really help each other if jin passes chi out of your body as well as with some qigong exercises? The reason I ask is some books say after qigong wait 20 to 30 minutes before going to the bathroom, or eating so chi can enter small circulation...

4. And just cuz Im curious if anyone knows, when practicing spiritual daoist qigong, is it dangerous to have OBEs (out of body experiences) before you cultivate the spiritual embryo?

It would be greatly appreciated if anyone could help me with these questions.
lilman
Forum Guru